

Office of Science and Technology Policy Executive Office of the President New Executive Office Building Washington, DC 20502

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

July 26, 2006

Contact: Ben Fallon

(202) 456-6098

bfallon@ostp.eop.gov

White House Announces 2005 Awards for Early Career Scientists and Engineers

The White House today announced the recipients of the 2005 Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers, the nation's highest honor for professionals at the outset of their independent research careers. Fifty-six researchers will be honored today in a ceremony presided over by John H. Marburger III, Science Advisor to the President and Director of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy.

The Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers, established in 1996, honors the most promising researchers in the nation within their fields. Nine federal departments and agencies annually nominate scientists and engineers at the start of their independent careers whose work shows exceptional promise for leadership at the frontiers of scientific knowledge during the twenty-first century. Participating agencies award these talented scientists and engineers up to five years of funding to further their research in support of critical government missions.

The recipients of the 2005 Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers, along with their nominating federal department or agency are:

Department of Agriculture

Christopher John Fettig, USDA Forest Service

Joseph Martin Jez, USDA Donald Danforth Plant Science Center

David Brian Johnston, USDA Agricultural Research Service

Department of Commerce

Arlene Fiore Field, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Katherine Ann Lefebvre, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

James Vincent Porto III, National Institute of Standards and Technology

Christopher Lloyd Soles, National Institute of Standards and Technology

Department of Education

Laura Marie Justice, University of Virginia

Department of Energy

Daniel Wayne Bardayan, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Todd Munson, Argonne National Laboratory

Christopher John Roy, Auburn University

Wynne Katherine Schiffer, Brookhaven National Laboratory

Wendelin Jane Wright, Stanford University

Yanwen Zhang, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Michael Anthony Zingale, University of California, Santa Cruz

Department of Defense

Randy Alan Bartels, Colorado State University

Kelly Jo Benoit Bird, Oregon State University

Mark Christopher Hersam, Northwestern University

Jennifer Eve Hoffman, Harvard University

Ju Li, Ohio State University

Kenneth Martin O'Hara, Pennsylvania State University

Department of Health and Human Services: National Institutes of Health

Sohyun Ahn, National Institutes of Health

Daniel Howard Appella, National Institutes of Health

Karl Alexander Deisseroth, Stanford University

Kathryn Pitkin Derose, RAND Corporation

Carolyn Debra Michelle Furr Holden, Pacific Institute for Research and Evaluation

Nace Leon Golding, University of Texas, Austin

Beatriz Luna (Isabel Beatriz Luna Herrera), University of Pittsburgh

Tannishtha Reya, Duke University

Kevin Yosh Sanbonmatsu, Los Alamos Nat'l Laboratory

Melanie Sarah Sanford, University of Michigan

Yihua (Bruce) Yu, University of Utah

Neal Scott Silverman, University of Massachusetts

National Aeronautics and Space Administration

Jianli Chen, University of Texas, Austin

National Science Foundation

Marina Umaschi Bers, Tufts University

Eugene Joseph Billiot, Texas A&M University, Corpus Christi

Rachel Melissa Brewster, University of Maryland, Baltimore County

Silvia Ferrai, Duke University

Shelly Lyne Gable Nayak, University of California, Los Angeles

Julia Eve Hammer, University of Hawaii

Ashley Jean James, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities

Tracy Lanise Johnson, University of California, San Diego

Scott David Kelly, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Anna Kathryn Mapp, University of Michigan

Thomas Leonard Martin, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

Jonathan Christopher Mattingly, Duke University

Benjamin John McCall, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Suzie Hwang Pun, University of Washington

Rebeca Bat-Sheba Rosengaus-Nurko, Northeastern University, Boston

Aravinthan Daniel Thevapirian Samuel, Harvard University

William Edward Schuler, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities

James Earl Smay, Oklahoma State University

Michael Steven Strano, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Meiling (Janet) Wang, University of Arizona, Tuscon

Department of Veterans Affairs

David Jonathan Casarett, University of Pennsylvania

Jennifer Louise Gooch, Emory University

About the Office of Science and Technology Policy

Congress established OSTP in 1976 with a broad mandate to advise the President and others within the Executive Office of the President on the impacts of science and technology on domestic and international affairs. The 1976 Act also authorizes OSTP to lead an interagency effort to develop and to implement sound science and technology policies and budgets and to work with the private sector, state and local governments, the science and higher education communities, and other nations toward this end. The Director of OSTP serves as co-chair of the President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology and oversees the National Science and Technology Council on behalf of the President. For more information visit www.ostp.gov.

###